Allow me to finish that sentence for you

TheClashLondonCallingalbumcover

My son has become quite adept at anticipating what is going to happen next.

I will say “Can you go to the toilet now please.” or “Can you put your shoes away in your bedroom.”

And he will say “And after I get back I can watch TV” or “And when I’m done I will just have an ice cream”

So perhaps not quite so much anticipating what is going to happen as suggesting what he would like to happen. It’s almost like reverse bribery. Or even double reverse bribery because I’m supposed to be doing the bribing – not him!

Sometimes he actually uses things that you’ve said to him before. The other morning he needed to put on a jumper and he chose his jumper with a picture of the band “The Clash” on it. We all got to discussing the songs that they sing and my son asked if we could listen to something. As we were on our way out of the door we told him he could listen to them once his father had gotten home from work that evening.

That evening he bided his time. Only after all the things that needed to be done in preparation for bed had already been done and we were on to the final goodnight hug and kiss did he bring it up again.

I said “Give Daddy a hug and a kiss goodnight” and he rejoined with “And after that I can listen to the Clash.”

*Image from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Clash

Leave a Reply

