Boy talk

youth_possibility_wisdom

The conversation on the way home from school today went something like this.

2yo: Do you remember Dad?

5yo: Yes of course I remember Dad. I know everything about him.

8yo: Really? What’s his favourite word?

5yo: Hi hungry, I’m Dad. Because when I say, I’m hungry Dad always says “Hi Hungry, I’m Dad.”

Over the years I have been gifted with various top parenting tips from the now 8 year old; here are a couple of my favourites:

“When I have kids, I will let them play on technology all the time.” He said as he meaningfully looked my phone up and down.

Once upon another time the conversation went like this;

“I won’t make my kids go to school because I don’t want them to have to go through what I’ve gone through.” Which to let you all know is Kindergarten, Year 1 and Year 2

“Will you stay at home and home school them then?” I asked.

A little bit of thinking, then “Yes.”

“How will you make the money to support your family if you’re at home?”

“My wife will have to work. And I’ll use my pocket money for food. We’ll go to the shops in the afternoon and buy lollies”

“Well as long as you’ve thought it through and you have a plan son.”

“Of course.”

* Image from http://writingfix.com/wac/NumberFix/Creative_Equations.htm

Leave a Reply

