Ferreror Rocher Cupcakes

cupcales

The young people in my house love to help in the kitchen. I have a sneaking suspicion that my middle son will in fact end up some sort of chef extraordinaire and that he will claim me, across the world, as his mentor (probably not).

I am however particularly inept at accommodating their budding culinary genius. Well, it is more accurate to say that I have had to learn to manage their genius against my ability to cope with their mess. In the interests of preserving my sanity and attempting to incorporate the young folk into the goings on of my kitchen I endeavour to find ways to let them help that aren’t particularly involved and can not possibly cause any real damage, or mess that I then have to clean up alone.

This one was a dozy and I’ll be honest I have been congratulating myself for about a week now.

I used a premix cupcake box. I am not proud but to be honest the end result is just as good as anything I have ever before managed myself and it’s just so much easier. So there it is, I use premix and I’m OK with that.

First step was to get my sous chef to put the cupcake liners into the cupcake tray. I snipped the top of the premade cupcake mix and tipped it into the mixing bowl. You can’t say I don’t give you exact instructions. Then I got him to help me set the oven to the right setting as I sprayed the cupcake liners with cooking spray.

His most important and final task was to unwrap 12 ferror rocher chocolates and place one chocolate in each liner as I added the eggs, milk and butter to my mixing bowl and mixed it all together with the electric beater as per the box instructions. We finished at around about the same time. After his industrious efforts he was quite happy to simply watch as I poured a spoonful of the mix over each ferror rocher to finish off the cupcakes.

We put it all in the oven for the requisite 30 minutes and voila, perfect mess free cupcakes.

We took them out of the cupcake tray and set them on the cooling rake to cool down. It was at this point that my 2 year old woke up and wanted to join in the cupcake making fun. Quelle horreur!

I was surprised that the simple art of icing piping solved a whole world of child cupcake helper strife. I made the icing myself, according to the packet directions and then filled a piping bag with the mixture. I’m not sure if it was just a good day but the 2 children were very happy to watch and apply in alternating sequence. They took turns piping dots, splodges, circles and general mess onto the cupcakes. It was a riot and they were quite happy to be managed doing it.

The ferror rocher wafer shell did get a little soggy in the baking process but not inedible and this ingenuous idea is probably multi chocolatey and you could apply it to whatever your family favourite chocolate brand is, as long as they are individually wrapped so your helper is unwrappingly employed as you make the cupcake mixture.

Hope you find this as easy and enjoyable!

*Image from http://thebubblybaker.com/2012/02/12/vanilla-cupcakes-with-chocolate-frosting/

One thought on “Ferreror Rocher Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

